Forums  
  Discussion  
    Tim's Web Quiz  
    Tim's Web Puzzles  
  Polls - Freshwater  
  Polls - Saltwater  
   





 

Go Back   Tropical Fish Forum . Net > General Aquarium Care > Filters and Powerheads

Filters and Powerheads Questions and comments about aquarium filters and powerheads

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:10 AM
Pwat's Avatar
Pwat Pwat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 328
Default Battery Filter

I believe my battery for the motor in my filter is becoming weaker so my circulation is very low through my filter and it just gets a lot of algae making the flow even weaker. Does this mean i have to get a new filter or can i get a new battery?
__________________
10 gallon: Female Cambodian Betta, 2 cories
20 gallon: planning to put some livebearers
Outside Pond: empty for the winter
"Speak your mind, even if your voice shakes."
-Maggie Kuhn
  #2  
Old 05-20-2009, 05:30 AM
Dano's Avatar
Dano Dano is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Goose Creek SC USA
Posts: 1,892
Default Re: Battery Filter

I have never heard of a battery operated filter......What is the brand name of it?
__________________
I got off the porch and ran with the big dogs. Now I can't get back on the porch!
  #3  
Old 05-20-2009, 06:38 AM
alan j t's Avatar
alan j t alan j t is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: reno nv
Posts: 151
Default Re: Battery Filter

do you mean the motor/magnet?
maybe it needs a good cleaning and the impeller aswell
  #4  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:32 PM
Pwat's Avatar
Pwat Pwat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 328
Default Re: Battery Filter

I really don't know if it is battery!!! I just thought that that was what operated it, other than the electricity . I'll take another look at it and clean the motor. If that doesn't work i don't really know what will since i changed the filter cartridge and that didn't help at all.
__________________
10 gallon: Female Cambodian Betta, 2 cories
20 gallon: planning to put some livebearers
Outside Pond: empty for the winter
"Speak your mind, even if your voice shakes."
-Maggie Kuhn
  #5  
Old 05-21-2009, 04:16 AM
Dano's Avatar
Dano Dano is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Goose Creek SC USA
Posts: 1,892
Default Re: Battery Filter

If you give me the name of the filter and model number, may be I can help you.
__________________
I got off the porch and ran with the big dogs. Now I can't get back on the porch!
  #6  
Old 05-22-2009, 02:26 AM
Pwat's Avatar
Pwat Pwat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 328
Default Re: Battery Filter

It's a TopFin 10 filter that came with the aquarium in the set but it ended up there was just some algae gunk that didn't come off when i cleaned my filter before, i'll be more aware of how i clean my filter next time. Thanks Alan, and sorry Dano i couldn't be of too much help there. Just to understand the mechanics of a filter though in future reference. It's connected to electricity and then the motor which i'm unable to ever see (only the outside) spins the wheel so the water is sucked up and moved onto the filter cartridge with the charcoal and then water comes out.
__________________
10 gallon: Female Cambodian Betta, 2 cories
20 gallon: planning to put some livebearers
Outside Pond: empty for the winter
"Speak your mind, even if your voice shakes."
-Maggie Kuhn
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.